University of Minnesota
MICaB Graduate Program
MICaB Home | U of M Medical School | Graduate School

Unit's home page.



 MICaB graduate student Angela Bedoya has been featured in the Fall 2018 Discovery Issue.  
"Other side of the white coat"
Eight years after a cord blood transplant to treat her Fanconi anemia, Angela Bedoya returns to the University of Minnesota, this time as a student and scientist
(link to Discovery article)

Marc Jenkins, PhD Named UMN Regents Professor (link to the Medical School News)

Shannon Kordus, Sarah Namugenyi and Josh Thiede have received  2018-2019 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships.   Congratulations to all three on selection for this competitive award!

Congratulations to MICaB alumni Eric Hanse for receiving an Honorable  Mention for his 2018 Best Disseration  application.


Alex Khoruts and Michael Sadowsky were Interviewed about their gut research in StarTribune
"The Twin Cities area is emerging as a major player in what could become a multibillion
dollar industry"
.-By Joe Carlson Star Tribune
Also read their reply to the article here:


Blekhman is new McKnight Land-Grant Professor,
The University just announced this year’s McKnight Land-Grant Professors and our own Ran Blekhman is among them! This distinction goes to early-career faculty who show great promise, which makes Ran an ideal pick. His research looks at how our genome impacts our microbiome. He holds a joint appointment in the departments of Genetics, Cell Biology and Development and Ecology, Evolution and Behavior. Please join me in congratulating Ran on this wonderful distinction.

Best regards,
Valery Forbes Dean, College of Biological Sciences


Two new recipients of the John & Abigail Wardle Chair in Microbial Ecology.

I am pleased to announce two new recipients of the John & Abigail Wardle Chair in Microbial Ecology. Peter Tiffin is the new Wardle Chair in Plant and Microbial Biology, and Will Harcombe is the new Wardle Chair in Ecology, Evolution and Behavior. The chair recognizes exceptional contributions to the field of microbial ecology and comes with funding for five years to support research and educational programs. Both Peter and Will are outstanding investigators well deserving of this recognition. Please join me in congratulating them and come celebrate this distinction at a special reception February 20 at 4:30 p.m. in the lobby of the Cargill Building. All are welcome.

Best regards,
Valery Forbes Dean, College of Biological Sciences

Email me ( or Megan Ruf( if you have news items for the MICaB newsletter.

Wade Bresnahan
Director of Graduate Studies
Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology (MICaB) Ph.D. Graduate Program